Buccaneers R.F.C.

The name Buccaneers derives from the original Shannon Buccaneers who were founded in the early 1930’s by Athlone man Diarmuid Murtagh. Shannon Buccaneers was a formidable Leinster Rugby Club in their day who fielded players of the calibre of Walter Amos and Sammy Walker, a British and Irish Lion. Despite winning a pair of Towns Cups in this period, Murtagh’s dream of building a strong midlands based rugby club were, however, brought to a sudden halt by the onset of the Second World War which effectively ended the short life of the Shannon Buccaneers.
In October, 1951, rugby was revived in Athlone with the formation of Athlone Rugby Football Club following a meeting chaired by Dr. Jim Keane in the Crescent Ballroom, attended by 37 persons. “The Doc” became the club’s first President while Michael O’Meara was Captain. Various pitches were utilised until the club purchased its own grounds on the Ballymahon Road at Cornamagh where a clubhouse was opened in 1965. Title of this ground was transferred to the IRFU from whom the club rented it back at the princely sum of £1 per annum. A decade later it was named Keane Park in honour of Dr. Keane, who died shortly after taking up office as President of the IRFU in 1975. A converted Bord Na Mona prefab provided the original facility there with dressing-rooms, members bar and in 1976 squash courts being added over the years. With road widening taking away part of the main pitch, the club purchased the current site in the mid 1980’s where three pitches were provided over a period time with covered terracing erected in 1996.


Address: The Bounty, Dubarry Park, Clonbrusk, Athlone, Co. Westmeath

Telephone: 086 1732711

Grounds: Dubarry Park, Clonbrusk, Athlone, Co. Westmeath

Colours: Jersey: Black & Yellow. Shorts: Black. Socks: Black & Yellow

E-Mail: rugby@dubarrypark.com

Web: buccaneersrfc.com

Buccaneers RFC

53.435288, -7.922609

Athlone Co. Westmeath
Contact: Padraig Ryan
Phone: 086 - 2923884
Email: padraigryan@outlook.com


Joe Browne

Mobile: 087 2666801
Email: joebrowne66@gmail.com

Padraig Ryan

Mobile: 086 2345362
Email: padraigryan@outlook.com

Pat Whelan

Mobile: 086 2594397
Email: pwhelanmoydrum@gmail.com

Gerry McLaughlin

Mobile: 086 1732711
Email: rugby@dubarrypark.com

Tommy Conlon

Mobile: 086 2577327
Email: conlon.t@hotmail.com

Michael Silke

Mobile: 087 2261970
Email: msilkebuccs@eircom.net


Pat Whelan

Mobile: 086 2594397
Email: pwhelanmoydrum@gmail.com

Delegate 1
Ted Carty

Mobile: 086 2592254
Email: tcarty@olivercarty.ie


Delegate 2

Paddy Kenny

Mobile: 086 6067630
Email: paddy.kenny@permanenttsb.ie

Brian Tallon

Mobile: 086 3855494
Email: briantallon1@gmail.com